Chanel Rouge Allure Enjouee & Passion

Here they are, the new Chanel Rouge Allure Luminous¬†Intense Lip Colours. I was very upset when I first heard that the Rouge Allure range is going to be discontinued, they were my favourite lipstick formula. After waiting for such a long time (ok, for me it was really long, haha), Chanel finally released a new/revamped range … an upgrade – Chanel Rouge Allure Luminous Intense Lip Colour. I have to admit, my hopes and expectations were really high (since I questioned myself, why such a phenomenal lipstick formula gets discontinued). After swatching here and there, my attention went to all the reds in first place. I think everyone who loves reds or is looking for a red, be it for every day or evening, will surely make a find.

Chanel Rouge Allure Enjouee, Passion

The packaging looks exactly like the previous Rouge Allure range, sleek, classic and with a magnetic closing mechanism. I had a hard time choosing only two colours, I had to test them out first. Now, are they just as good as their forerunner or even better? Or worse?

Chanel Rouge Allure Enjouee, Passion

I have to say, I had no luck with the sun while taking those pictures but I think the actual colour is pretty much visible and noticeable. I needed a classic, opaque red, therefore I have chosen #104 Passion, a neutral balanced red, great for everyday and evening/going out. As you might remember, some time ago Chanel released a Rouge Allure called Genial, a long time favourite of mine (yes, I purged this colour and I don’t know why), hence my decision to pick #95 Enjouee, a peachy pink coral (notabene, more peachy than pink) with very subtle warm gold and peachy pink soft shimmer.

Chanel Rouge Allure Enjouee, Passion

The staying power is phenomenal, up to three hours, both colours leave a soft even stain. They are not drying on my lips and don’t settle into fine lines. The formula is creamy with a satin finish. For my lip swatches I used a lip brush and applied two layers (the same for my arm swatches, I applied straight from the bullet though). Swatches taken under full sun.

Chanel Rouge Allure Enjouee, Passion

Enjouee is a tad more coral in real life. Lip swatches (pic) taken after about one hour of wear. What I like the most, is that there is no white line, they fade very even. With Passion I have to use a mirror while reapplying (but this is the case for all opaque reds, at least for me). They don’t budge, smudge and they don’t transfer like crazy (I noticed this especially with red colours, Passion leaves your coffee mug soft stained after you have applied the colour freshly though). I think next on my list are Coromandel and Fire (since I already own the nail polishes, would be nice to go matchy-matchy). Overall, I am really impressed and love the formula, the colours are all very lovely and I am more than happy to see a lot of reds.

Have you tested the new Rouge Allure range already? What do you think?

