Kose ADDICTION Eye Lacquer WP 008 Rumble Fish

For Summer 2012, ADDICTION released their new Eye Lacquers WP (available in nine shades). The colour that stand out to me the most is Rumble Fish. There have been a lot of launches when it comes to cream eyeshadows, eye glosses this year (like with all the liquid lipsticks – but that’s something I am happy about actually). The new ADDICTION Eye Lacquers WP are waterproof (they really are! I tested it under running water), fragrance free (ok, they have a decent chemical smell, not noticeable once applied) and of course glossy (only fresh applied, once they set, they are pretty much matte with some sparkles showing through).

Kose Addiction Eye Lacquer 008 Rumble FishThe packaging is sleek, black, like all other Addiction products are housed. What I like the most about the packaging, is how big the eye gloss actually is, it is very handy to me and feels sleek (fingerprints are noticeable but that doesn’t bother me that much).

Kose Addiction Eye Lacquer 008 Rumble FishThey all have a small stripe at the bottom showing the actual colour (that’s pretty good if you are not a notorious packaging keeper like me – I just can’t throw away the outer packaging, always looks so pretty. Ok, beside the japanese drugstore ones, I don’t like the feeling of that plastic thing … and I once cut my finger with it).

Kose Addiction Eye Lacquer 008 Rumble FishThe doe foot applicator is the fluffiest and softest I’ve ever come across. It picks up a bit too much of product but we have the control how much we actually apply on our lids. I need about two little dots for my crease and one for all over the lid (sheer wash of colour). The texture is very smooth, almost feels like a mousse (almost!). What, to me, is special about those lacquers: the colour pay off. It is not a sheer, barely there eye gloss but a vivid coloured lacquer. You can either layer it to vivid or have a soft wash of colour – multifunctional. As I mentioned above it sets matte (but still has noticeable sparkles on top, they won’t move, which is very impressive, no glittery disco ball face here). They are not drying and don’t accentuate my dry lids/dry skin texture and last all day without fading, budging – a truly amazing product.

Kose Addiction Eye Lacquer 008 Rumble Fish swatchI was expecting a more wine based colour due to the presentation on Addiction’s website but it is a deep purple with a slightly hint of deep wine colour, with pale green, light pink, sparse red and warm golden sparkles. In this swatch it is very glossy (fresh applied) but it really sets matte. They blend like a dream and won’t dry while you are still working on your crease or lid  (let’s say, when I am done with blending it has set shortly afterwards).

Because I was wearing OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark anyway and I thought it would suit the deep purple/wine theme, here a quick Nail Of The Day:

OPI Lincoln Park After Dark

