MAC Marilyn Monroe: Pure Zen & The Perfect Cheek

When I came across this collection, I swatched Pure Zen and The Perfect Cheek like thousand times. I have had dry lips for a decade and now they are normal-dry, this means, I can try more lipstick formulas. The packaging is adorable with that imprint of Marilyn Monroe.

mac pure zen

Pure ZenĀ (cremesheen) is described as a frosted warm nude, I would describe it as a peachy beige nude. It has some soft shimmer. The texture is quite creamy indeed. The staying power is very good, after two hours, I still had a soft peachy beige stain on my lips. I have to moisturize very well before I use any MAC lipstick, otherwise it will dry out my lips. I have to say, MAC has some very interesting and wearable nudes (I definitely have to rebuy Shy Girl, a lipstick I purged due to my lip condition). Pure Zen looks amazing on, I fell in love with this colour, it’s perfect for every day. I also feel like it brightens my complexion a bit.

mac the perfect cheek

The Perfect Cheek (matte) is described as a neutral pink beige, I would add, that it also has some mauve undertone. The texture is not powdery, not the smoothest out there either and feels very solid in touch. It is medium pigmented I would say. I don’t have any problems with staying power, it lasts all day (but all MAC blushes I’ve tried stay on all day on me). This colour is my perfect pink nude so far. The colour is either more beige or more mauve-pink, depends on how the lighting is.

mac pure zen, the perfect cheek

