Guerlain Liu Eye and Lip Calligraphy Palette

Here it is, the most beautiful palette this year – Liu Calligraphy Palette! Not only the packaging is stunning but also the colours, texture and pigmentation. This palette contains four powder eyeshadows and two velvet lipsticks. It also has two brushes, which are ok but not very special or have an outstanding quality.

soft golden champagne – great as highlighter for brow bone and inner corner. It has pale green, very light orange and champagne/golden shimmer. This colour is the sheerest of all but still pretty pigmented.

golden orange – a toned down, quite vibrant orange colour with an iridescent golden base. It has orange, golden and light green shimmer.

taupe – this colour is the most beautiful mushroomy taupe I have (and probably swatched in my entire life). I wouldn’t call it a ‘real’ brownish taupe – it has a golden, mushroomy base with a hint of green to it (or a mix of grey and gold,with a wee bit of green). It has champagne, defused golden and very sparse light green and orange shimmer. I guess, some people wouldn’t even call it a taupe but oh well, this colour is magical.

black – it is a matte liner, hence the texture is a bit drier, still very pigmented, not as smooth feeling (in touch) as the other colours.

red – a rather warm, deep strawberry red (velvet, without any shimmer). I am tempted to call this colour my perfect red.

pink red – a cool toned red based vibrant pink (velvet, without any shimmer). Sheered out, this colour appears even more pink than red.

Guerlain-Liu-Eye-and-Lip-Calligraphy-PaletteThe eyeshadow texture is very smooth and soft, more than Guerlain’s Ecrin 4 couleurs palettes (which may feel rather dry). The pigmentation is pretty intense, I used only one heavy layer for my swatches, two of the liner. The staying power is all day on my dry lids, without smudging, moving.

The lipstick texture is velvety, so smooth and almost buttery but still solid (in touch). They don’t dry out my lips (condition: normal dry) but I can see those not working for people with extremely dry lips. They are quite opaque, I use a lipbrush and need two layers for an intense colour payoff. The same I did in my swatch, on the right side of every swatch I used two layers and the left is sheered out to show, how the stain will look like. The staying power is about two hours on me, both lipsticks leave a soft, either pink or red stain. After about three hours I need to reapply.

Guerlain-Liu-Calligraphy-Palette-swatchThe lipsticks make a great blush colour as well, especially the bright pink shade. This palette will not be everyone’s cup of tea – two lipsticks and four eyeshadows in one palette. Let me tell you, if you have concerns about, if the powder will stick to the cream lipsticks – yes, it will. There is also a problem with reapplying the lipshades, you need to carry arround the whole palette and use a lipbrush (I really don’t recommend using fingers). Does it bother me? No, not very much.

This palette is for you if you are not picky (about powder in/on your lipsticks), don’t bother to carry arround a whole palette (or you could scoop out a bit in a travel sized container), like shimmery eyeshadows with great pigmentation and love reds/pinks with a velvety texture.

