Youngblood Crushed Mineral Blush Tulip

Youngblood-Mineral-Blush-Tulip Youngblood is a mineral cosmetics company, Paraben, Petroleum, Mineral Oil and Talc free. Their packaging is very sleek and well made.

Youngblood-Mineral-Blush-Tulip Tulip is a baby doll pink colour with soft shimmer particles. This blush is called satin on their website, to me it is more shimmery than stain though.

Youngblood-Mineral-Blush-Tulip The texture is very soft and silky and the pigmentation is pretty intense (I used about 1/4 of the powder in the cap for my swatch). It feels like silk on your skin, blends with your natural skin colour and looks incredibly natural (the soft shimmer is noticeable once applied, not uber shimmery though). The staying power is about eight hours on me, it fades a bit by the end if the day but is still visible. This mineral blush definitely needs a sticky base, like a non siliconey primer or a foundation, otherwise it will disappear within hours and the soft shimmer will move all over your face (tested in breezy weather).

I tried quite a lot of mineral blushes (foundations, lipsticks, etc. as well though) and I have to say, this one is my favourite. Not only the colour is pretty (I find a lot of mineral/organic companies have nice colours but most of them have a brownish tint/undertone, they often look earthy) but also the super soft texture impressed me. Compared to Bare Minerals, Aubrey Organics, Lily Lolo, Pur Minerals, Meow, Youngblood Crushed Mineral Blush is much more finely milled, feels softer and blends easier. The idea of including Rice Starch (third ingredient) is one of the reasons I wanted to try their makeup line.

Youngblood-Crushed-Mineral-Brush-Tulip-swatchI am very impressed and you can expect more reviews soon. All blushes can be used on your eyes as well, for more depth or contouring. Tulip works great as a highlighter as well or layered on top of another blush. If you don’t like any shimmer on your face, this blush is not for you, however, Youngblood also has matte blushes (Rouge – pink apple red, Adobe – earthy mocha with red undertones, Cabernet – rich wine).  Lola, form Lola’s Secret Beauty Blog reviewed Dusty Pink (shell pink, satin), Sherbet (gold-laced pink peach, shimmer) and Tulip. You can read her review here.

I have to admit, I was interested in Youngblood a long time ago but my experience with mineral/organic companies was ok but nothing outstanding, non of the products I tested were worth rebuying, I ended up giving those products away. Not so with Youngblood and I am very glad I have finally tried a product from this brand.

