Aubrey Organics White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner

aubrey organics white camellia shampoo, conditioner

Aubrey Organics is an all-natural skin, hair and body care brand

My short hair story: I have black hair and always wanted a nice medium light honey brown or ash brown hair colour (I am a bit undecided, still). After some hair colouring fails (epic fails), my hair got dryer and dryer. I had to cut my hair but still could see and feel the echo of my went wrong hair experiments (yes, I also had dyed it at my favourite hair salon but apparently they don’t know how to lighten black hair it seems, the result: brassy orange, and I mean brassy, ouch!). Short after I have used my favourite haircare line – Shu Uemura Moisture Velvet (stay tuned for my review, love this line!) – I was thinking: wait, there have to products out there that are even better, organic maybe? I did a quick google search and what popped up in the forgotten corner of google page rank? Aubrey Organics White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner.

Who is it for? For people with dry, coarse, unruly hair. My hair is fine (but I have a lot of it actually), unruly, frizzy, extremely dry (and probably dead *subtle irony off*), wavy (and I had so beautiful straight hair when I was younger *sigh*). Well, maybe I had to pay more attention to the word coarse

White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing Shampoo – the formulation is rather thin but not overly runny, the scent is organic floral. What bothered me the most is the fact, that it just won’t lather (I have used organic haircare products before and know that most of them won’t lather but at least they have cleansed my hair), the problem: I didn’t have the feeling that it even has cleansed my hair. This shampoo made my hair greasy all along, well, it tamed my frizz and straightened out my waves that way (this was not the result I was hoping for though). For my hairtype this product was a fail. But I think is has amazing moisturizing properties, just a bit (a lot) too much for my hair.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua, glycerin, decyl glucoside, sodium cocoyl hydrolyzed soy protein, oryza sativa extract*, prunus amygdalus dulcis oil*, camellia japonica seed oil*, glucose, xanthan gum, simmondsia chinensis seed oil*, rosa rubiginosa seed oil*, glyceryl linoleate, glyceryl linolenate, citric acid, tocopheryl acetate, pelargonium graveolens flower oil*, lavandula angustifolia flower oil*, macadamia ternifolia seed oil*, citrus grandis extract, glycine soja oil, glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase, ascorbic acid, aloe barbadensis leaf juice*, alcohol denat., (38b, lavender*), hamamelis viginiana water, daucus carota sativa root extract, beta-carotene.
*Organic

White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing Conditioner – the formulation is very creamy. Despite being disappointed with the shampoo, I had a much better experience with this conditioner. It is very moisturizing, nourishing and really smoothing. If I use too much, my hair gets really flat though (I use about a hazelnut sized blob for my whole hair). I don’t like the organic scent it leaves though. I use it mainly as a pre-treatment now and am quite happy with it.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua, aloe barbadensis (aloe) leaf juice*, myristyl alcohol, camellia japonica seed oil*, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil, alcohol denat. (38b, lavender*), pelargonium graveolens (geranium) flower oil*, glycerin, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil*, citrus grandis (grapefruit) extract, salvia officinalis (sage) oil*, tocopheryl acetate, foeniculum vulgare (fennel) fruit extract, humulus lupulus (hops) extract, melissa officinalis (balm mint) leaf extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) extract, glycine soja (soybean) oil, daucus carota sativa (carrot) root extract, beta-carotene, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) water, ascorbic acid.
*Organic

aubrey organics white camellia shampoo, conditioner 2

On the bottom line, I have those products for a long time now and there is still plenty left. I think I just picked the wrong haircare line for my hair this time. Even though the conditioner is moisturising, I don’t reach often for it. With my order back in the days, I also got samples of their GPB Glycogen Protein Balancing Shampoo Lavender Ylang Ylang and Conditioner / for normal hair (yay on the shampoo, nay on the conditioner) and the Rosa Mosqueta Nourishing Shampoo and Conditioner / for colour treated hair and all hair types (yay on both, the shampoo is very good actually!). I have purchased the Rosa Mosqueta Shampoo and use it once a week to give my hair some other nice pampering nosh, just like my skin, my hair doesn’t like to be treated with the same ingredients over and over again. I use a cleansing shampoo once a week by the way … but I will do a post on my haircare routine soon, too much gibble gabble about hair for one – this – post.

