Dior Diorshow Mono Eyeshadow #760 Tweed

dior tweed eyeshadow

dior tweed eyeshadow

dior tweed eyeshadow

Dior Diorshow Mono #760 Tweed / direct sunlight

Dior Diorshow Mono #760 Tweed is a murky mauve, greyed taupe with visible shimmer. It is rather warm than neutral. I was expecting a more plummy or purple undertone actually, but once applied it turns more mauvey taupe, with a warm brown base on me. This shade is pretty hard to photograph, it has a slightly silvery base, which is reflecting the light. It photographs more purple mauve than it is in real life.

When the first testers in stores showed up, I was all over the new shades and wanted to swatch everything. My enthusiasm quickly cooled down after I have touched two of the new eyeshadows – dry, so solid and dry, that I couldn’t pick up any colour at all. I was pretty much disappointed. Then the online swatches got me again and I went to another store and lo and behold … almost colours were creamy, super pigmented and smooth. My love began to grow …

dior tweed eyeshadow

The formulation is quite solid in touch and densely pressed but the texture is creamy and the pigments stick to either my finger or brush pretty well. It can be applied wet or dry (both ways work fine and there is no blending problem). What surprised me the most is how blendable those new mono eyeshadows are. I even would presume, that they are comparable to Rouge Bunny Rouge’s phenomenal texture just not as creamy (note: not all colours but especially 653 Mordoré and 566 Panama). Some shades remind a bit of  a creamier and softer Guerlain eyeshadow texture (452 Spencer, 477 Camouflage). Some eyeshadows with less pigment and not as soft are 623 Ribbon, 006 Swan, 616 Sequins.

The packaging looks like every other Dior case, deep blue and made of plastic. I really wish they would sell refills! I find the packaging pretty bulky and if you have more Dior monos by now, you will find it unhandy as well. It comes with a velvet pouch and two sponge tip applicators, which to my surprise are pretty well made. I used them for my swatches below (two swipes).

dior tweed eyeshadow swatch

Dior Diorshow Mono #760 Tweed / applied dry, natural light

dior tweed eyeshadow swatch

Dior Diorshow Mono #760 Tweed / applied wet, natural light

If you like taupes or mauve shades, you will like Tweed for sure. The shimmer particels show up a bit more in real life but aren’t too dominating, they catch the light beautifully. Tweed is kinda unusual, I would classify it as a taupe but there is a mauvey depth that can’t be duped that easily. From what I can tell, Tweed looks more taupey and less mauvey the darker the skintone. My light olive, leaning cool  N10 skintone seems to catch the mauve undertone more.

Overall, Dior impressed me this year, the new glosses (Diablotine and Dormeuse) are wonderful and the new mono eyeshadows (I am not a fan of the quints, they are way too frosty for my liking, also, I really like their colour stories) are impressive (note again: not all colours and I believe that there is a storing problem, because the quality differs from counter to counter, just like I have experienced this with Guerlain eyeshadows and blushes as well). If you catched a not so good quality mono eyeshadows, try to scrape off the top layer, most of the time it will be pigmented then. The new summer colours in 351 Feather and 273 Parati from the Bird of Paradise collection look tempting as well, I think Feather is more right up my alley though.

dior tweed eyeshadow

