Lipstick Week Day 5: Vamp

tom ford black orchid

Finding the perfect vamp is like looking for the perfect nude lipstick for me. There are a lot of vampy colours I actually like but I am still looking for ‘the one and only vamp’. Addiction Lady of the Lake is a vampy shade as well, however, it turns more berry than I have expected. It has a nice matte formulation.

tom ford black orchid

Tom Ford Black Orchid, ADDICTION Lady of the Lake

There are definitely deeper colours out there (with a heavy black base, yummy!). Both lipstick textures are a bit unforgiving on dry lips, the Addiction lipstick lasts longer due to its dryer formulation. Another gorgeous vamp and very vintage feeling shade is Yves Saint Laurent Vernis à Lèvres Glossy Stain #1 Violet Edition and Chanel Rouge Allure Rouge Noir makes me want to go back to the 20s.

Vamps and reds are my favourite colours (even in fashion), I tend to go for those colours in first place. I own way more reds than vamps though. What I like about vamps is how versatile they can be. I don’t follow the rule ‘bold lips, minimalistic eye makeup’. I do my makeup how I feel that day and I also don’t think it looks weird if you are wearing a bold lipstick and a bold smokey eye together.

Wearing a bold lip in general requires a perfect, clean base. I tend to spend more time on my base makeup than on my eye makeup. Choosing the right blush shade is a bit tricky for me as well. I either go for berry tones or cool pink shades, rarely nudes. I feel like I need more contrast and dimension on my face while wearing a bold lip, contouring is a must for me. Sometimes I also use a tad of bronzer, it depends on the makeup look I am going for though.

