Lipstick Week Day 6: brick-red

guerlain gardner

Guerlain Rouge G #26 Gardner is my favourite brick-red lipstick so far. Usually, I tend to go for bright reds or orange reds but Gardner is a beauty. It looked pretty boring in the bullet to me (when I first saw it) but I swatched it anyways and fell in love with it. Gardner was limited edition and I believe exclusive to europe only (holiday collection 2011, Belle de Nuit, gorgeous collection btw).

guerlain rouge g gardner

This Rouge G has some very tiny sparkles and is very opaque. I used two light layers for my swatches, what I noticed is, how glossy it looked on my arm but not on my lips. What I like about Gardner, it lasts a very long time and leaves a strong stain, without drying out my lips (I prep them with a lot of lip balm and I use eye cream as my night treatment). I tried here and there some brick-reds and most of the time I had the feeling, that those colours don’t look very good on my skintone. I won’t talk much about the packaging, you either hate or love it, it feels very luxurious (like most of the Guerlain products) but it seems a bit heavy (at least for me). This lipstick is scented, it doesn’t bother me to be honest, I actually like the scent. I like those Rouge G’s in general and Gardner is quite interesting shade.

