Black Eyeshadow

black lace

Laura Mercier Mystical, Shu Uemura P995, Shiseido BK912 Caviar, Chanel Mirifique

Laura Mercier Mystical, Shu Uemura P995, Shiseido BK912 Caviar, Chanel Mirifique

Inspired by my love for black lace dresses, here are my four go to black eyeshadows. They are all similar in colour depth, different in texture and finish though. All of them contain shimmer, the most reflective one is Chanel Mirifique, which is also the most backend one. The other shades are rather greyish black than true, deep black.

Laura Mercier Baked Eyeshadow Mystical – this is my favourite baked formulation, I use it wet and it stays put all day. I like how multidimensional it looks on the eye. There is a tiny bit of fallout though.

Shu Uemura P995 – looks very similar to Shiseido Caviar actually. Both contain tiny flecks of green sparkles. The texture is smooth and silky.

Shiseido BK912 Caviar – my go to black base. I only use a tiny bit and apply any other shade on top. I find this gives me the best results. I like to layer Caviar with any of the shadows shown for more depth. The texture is siliconey-smooth. I really like how blendable those Shiseido cream eyeshadows are.

Chanel Illusion d’Ombre Mirifique – meanwhile, those Illusion d’Ombres have a nice place in my drawer. I like them a lot. Very different from the Shiseido cream eyeshadows. I couldn’t choose one over another though. I really like using Mirifique as liner, it stays on all day on me without smudging.

Laura Mercier Mystical, Shu Uemura P995, Shiseido BK912 Caviar, Chanel Mirifique

Laura Mercier Mystical, Shu Uemura P995, Shiseido BK912 Caviar, Chanel Mirifique

If I had to choose one true, deep black eyeshadow, it would be the one from my Guerlain Liu palette. Guerlain makes the best true black eyeshadows. No fallout, pigmented, smooth and they can be used wet as well. I think black eyeshadows are quite underrated, they can be used for different purposes, add an edgy, smokey, sultry, elegant, vampy or whatever touch to your whole makeup/appearance. Like with all dark shades, blending is the key. My favourite combo as for now, is any of the shades above mixed with fuchsia, grape, lilac, emerald green or the lime shade from my YSL Arty Palette. I also like using pastels with black. There is one black that is truly horrible, it’s from my Stila In The Light palette, so much fallout, not even worth using this one. Overall, as for me, I only need one true black (Guerlain) and I like to play with other blacks that contain shimmer, have a different texture and finish.

