Orange Coral

This year, orange seems to be the colour that pops up everywhere. Let’s be honest, as for me, orange is a shade I find very difficult to pull off. I have to be in the mood for orange. I took some inspiration from orange corals, a colourful but still toned down interplay between yellow, orange and coral …

guerlain capri, shu g 251, mufe 54

Guerlain Capri has one of the most beautiful corals I came across (I went crazy for the whole Emilio Pucci collection actually), a mix of tiny warm golden and copper flecks, has aΒ  soft golden hue. A rather positive surprise is MUFE #54, when I first took a look at this shade I was … bored (?!) yes, but who would guess, that it develops a golden coppery sheen once applied. Shu Uemura G orange 251 (review), meanwhile a staple for my I want shimmer looks. The smooth texture glides on like butter, works best for me when applied with fingers and edges blended out with a brush.

guerlain capri, shu uemura, make up for ever

Guerlain Capri, Shu Uemura G 251, MUFE #54

shu ueamura orange g 251, visee, fyrinnae rapunzel had extensions

ADDICTION Tiny Shell + Shu G 251, Visee Blush RD-5, Bare Minerals Vanilla Sugar, Fyrinnae Rapunzel had Extensions

All Shu glitters can be layered on top of any eyeshadow, I actually like how pigmented they become once they have something to stick on. Above is a mix and match swatch because I like the sheen and sparkle. Fyrinnae‘s Rapuzel had Extensions is by far the most beautiful pale golden peachy pinkish shade ever. Just look at that finish! Also, a staple.

illamasqua lover, chanel presage, jill stuart strolling bee

Jill Stuart Strolling Bee was in constant use when I first got it. I don’t need much to make this blush show up on me. My favourite mix are the two shades at the bottom, layered (swatch). Illamasqua Lover, another well-loved blush. I find this shade quite unique in the orange peach category. The texture may seem a bit dry at first but once applied, it has an almost satin like finish. Chanel Presage, one of the hybrid formulas (yeah, hybrid is like the word 2014 when it comes to makeup), cream to powder finish. An interesting shade actually, something between coral and peachy-orange (once blended).

chanel presage, illamasqua lover, jill stuart

Jill Stuart Strolling Bee, Illamasqua Lover, Chanel Presage

chanel presage, illamasqua rude, rms beauty smile

Illamasqua Rude, RMS Beauty Smile, Chanel Presage

Texture wise, Illamasqua Rude is the thickest (sets after a while but still remains satin-dewy on me), RMS Beauty Smile the creamiest (never really sets, dewy finish and really hydrating) and Chanel Presage appears matte swatched against creams (sets matte but becomes a wee bit sheeny after a while).

guerlain pamplelune, ysl 50, ellis faas, burberry

dior riviera, ysl 50, burberry golden peach, ellis faas

Both, Dior Addict Extreme Riviera and Guerlain Rouge Automatique Shine Pamplelune look extremely orange but once swatched, the are rather peachy pink on me. Dior Addict Extreme Diablotine (review) however, is a true coral on me. Ellis Faas Glazed Lips L 306, my favourite finish and formulation in their line, seems to pull more orange-ish on me than on others, looks more peachy once sheered out, on my lips. YSL Rouge Pur Couture #50, a fall LE shade actually (so this whole orange theme has started last year already, eh!) is neon orange, especially under direct sunlight, so bright! I swatched it against other reds, different formulas and undertones. Burberry Lip Cover Golden Peach seems almost muted swatched against orange-peachy shades. Still, an old favourite of mine. Addiction Confiture (review) scared me when I swatched it (so yellowy orange) but due to its sheerness it won’t look as scary once applied.

ysl rouge pur couture 50

MAC Russian Red, NARS Moscow, YSL RPC #50, Chanel Pirate

There are some more products that would fit in the whole peachy orange category. Two (three?) of them are my all time favourites but since this post is a swatch-overload they will be featured next time (all I say is fire, a great inspiration). Overall, when it comes to shades that I find difficult to pull off or I have to be in the mood for colours, like orange, texture and finish are more important than ever. The tiny differences in undertone are also getting more attention.

