Purple Eyeliner & Catrice swatches

catrice metal eyeshadow

I am not the biggest fan of Catrice eyeshadows, in fact, those are all I own. However, the Liquid Metal Eyeshadows (can be used dry and wet) are fantastic. In real life, they have lots of shimmer and a metallic sheen, even when used dry.  They go on very smooth, are pigmented and blend effortlessly. I have noticed a bit of fallout though. We’re the Inner Purple has a black base and is not as shimmery as the other two. Depending on how much product you use, it goes on darker, more black based or lighter, more purple. Mauves Like Jagger immediately caught my eye, I like mauvey purples a lot. It has the right balance of grey, mauve and lilac. Gold Leaf Me turns more greenish than expected on me, once sheered out it becomes more golden though. It has some very tiny greenish golden sparkles.

catrice smoothie operator, metal eyeshadows

Smoothie Operator, We’re the Inner Purple, Mauves Like Jagger, Gold Leaf Me

catrice black or white swan, smoothie operator

I like baked eyeshadows a lot (most of the time I use them wet), Laura Mercier makes my favourite ones (Mystical swatched here). I have noticed, that there isn’t that much of a difference in the ingredients list (Catrice vs LM) and both are made in Italy. The only shade, I think is really an almost must have, is Black or White Swan. It is so complex, has lots of copper shimmer and a dusty black brown base. It has quite a lot of fallout, sadly. Smoothie Operator got my attention, because it looks like the perfect pastel yellow, it has a soft sheen, no visible shimmer. The texture is soft but again, there is a bit of fallout. Blends nicely though.

catrice black or white swan

Black or White Swan

catrice entering atlantis, berry potter, purple reign, denim moorecatrice entering atlantis, berry potter, purple rign, denim moore

Catrice makes some very interesting nail polish shades. The texture differs a lot between shades, all the colours above apply smooth, I used two layers. Berry Potter & Plumbledore (aren’t the names just awesome?!) looks a bit darker in real life. I like how complex all of the nail polishes above are. Purple Reign has blue sparkles and I like the contrast between purple and blue. Denim Moore looks way more interesting in real life, has an almost luminous shimmer base. I finally got a nail wheel, makes swatching so much easier.

purple liner, inglot

My eye makeup was inspired by all the purples above and Berry Potter & Plumbledore. Smoothie Operator I used in my crease (see the sheen?), Black or White Swan on my lid, as a base (used wet), crease (used dry). We’re the Inner Purple (used wet, MAC Fix+) as liner, and blended on my lower lashline with Black or White Swan. The main lid shade is from Inglot. I used Artdeco eyeshadow base (as I find this one works the best with Catrice). Here and there black gel liner (Inglot). I used Artdeco Khol Kajal in White (waterline), it is not stark white, what I wanted. When I open my eye, you actually only can see the soft edge of my crease shade with that yellow sheen and the liner (my eyes are hooded but not deep-set). If you look closely, you actually can see the fallout sparkles from Black or White Swan on my eyebrow …

