Illamasqua Katie

illamasqua katie, lover

Illamasqua is a brand I truly love. They feature shades that are just right up my alley. I fell in love with their blushers the moment I tried those years ago, especially their mattes. The texture is smooth, a bit dry feeling and you may think ‘omg, so powdery’ but it’s not the case. I have dry skin and they literally blend into my skin and give a smooth, non powdery finish, without accentuating my uneven skin texture. Katie is a cool toned pink with a heavy white base and like all Illamasqua blushers, very pigmented (but so easy to work with and very blendable). In the picture above it sits next to Lover (swatched here), to show the packaging. I depotted both but Lover started crumbling a bit (I clearly suck at depotting, you can take a look and see what I did to my Burberry blushers here, sigh, at least I can say ‘I hit pan on a blush’, heh). Katie and Lover are by far my favourite and most worn Illamasqua blushers. I always get asked what blush I am wearing (is that a good or bad thing actually?).

illamasqua katie swatch

For my swatch I used two layers, applied with my finger. Due to its white base it will look more white-ish on darker skintones. I am so curious about their latest collection ‘Once’, I couldn’t make up my mind what to get yet, the nail polish looks especially nice and I am very interested to try their cream eyeshadows. Stay tuned for more Illamasqua … and aren’t their promo pictures just amazing?!

